§1153. -- highways; jurisdiction; removal

1. Erecting advertisement on highway. A person may not post, erect, display or maintain or cause to be posted, erected, displayed or maintained a sign, billboard, panel, placard, poster, notice or other advertising device in, upon or above any highway or so situated with respect to any highway as to obstruct clear vision of an intersecting highway or highways or otherwise so situated as to prevent the safe use or obstruct the maintenance of the highway. The highway is deemed the full width of the road as laid out by the State, county or the town and in any case is deemed to extend 33 feet from each side of the center line of the traveled or built-up portion of the way.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

- **2. Application.** This section does not apply to the State or to a political subdivision of the State or to signs erected or maintained with the approval of the department solely for the purpose of safeguarding, facilitating or protecting travel along the highway.
 - A. The department may authorize the placing of directional signs of such design as it determines, not exceeding 48 inches in length and 9 inches in width to designate places of interest, to be posted without expense to the State at the junction of roads. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- B. A person, firm or corporation, while working on, under, over or immediately adjacent to a highway, may erect temporary warning or directional signs or signals for the purpose of safeguarding or protecting its workers and facilitating and protecting travel along the highway by the traveling public. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
 - 3. Penalties. The following penalties apply to violations of this section.
 - A. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$5 and not more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
 - B. After having been adjudicated as having violated paragraph A, a person who unlawfully maintains any sign, billboard, panel, placard, poster, notice or other advertising device for 10 days after the adjudication is subject to an additional fine of not more than \$50 for each day upon which such sign, billboard, panel, placard, poster, notice or other advertising device is maintained. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

4. Removal. The State Police shall remove all signs, billboards, panels, placards, posters, notices or other advertising devices existing within the limits of the highway in violation of this section. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1971, c. 593, §22 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §L1 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.