§3573. Reporting

- **1. Definitions.** As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have the following meanings.
 - A. "Developmental disability" means a disability attributable to a mental or physical impairment or combination of mental and physical impairments that:
 - (1) Is manifested before the person reaches 22 years of age;
 - (2) Is likely to continue indefinitely;
 - (3) Results in substantial functional limitations in 3 or more of the following areas of major life activity:
 - (a) Self-care;
 - (b) Receptive and expressive language;
 - (c) Learning;
 - (d) Mobility;
 - (e) Self-direction;
 - (f) Capacity for independent living; and
 - (g) Economic self-sufficiency.

A person from birth through 9 years of age who has a substantial developmental delay or specific congenital or acquired condition may be considered to have a developmental disability without meeting 3 of the criteria stated in this subparagraph if there is a high probability that the person will meet those criteria later in life if services and supports are not provided to the person; and

- (4) Reflects the person's need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary or generic care, treatment or other services that are of a lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated. [PL 2003, c. 602, §1 (NEW).]
- B. "Mental and physical impairments" includes, but is not limited to, the following conditions: intellectual disability, autism, cerebral palsy, Asperger syndrome, mental illness, Prader-Willi syndrome and epilepsy. [PL 2011, c. 542, Pt. A, §36 (AMD).]

[PL 2011, c. 542, Pt. A, §36 (AMD).]

2. Reporting requirements. The Department of Health and Human Services and Department of Education shall by January 15th of each year submit a joint report to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over health and human services matters regarding activities conducted over the past fiscal year related to the prevention of developmental disabilities and underlying mental and physical impairments and plans for such activities in the succeeding year. The report must also include data on the incidence rate of births of developmentally disabled children in the State.

[RR 2003, c. 2, §74 (COR).]

3. Limitation. The provisions of this section may not be interpreted to expand or otherwise affect the requirements of the Department of Health and Human Services to provide services to children and families under section 3571, subsection 2 or under Title 34-B.

[PL 2003, c. 602, §1 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 689, Pt. B, §6 (REV).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1985, c. 484 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 700, §A82 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 560, §K82 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 560, §K83 (AFF). PL 2001, c. 354, §3 (AMD). RR 2003, c. 2, §74 (COR). PL 2003, c. 602, §1 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 689, §B6 (REV). PL 2011, c. 542, Pt. A, §36 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.