Maine Revised Statutes

Title 22: HEALTH AND WELFARE
Chapter 551: PURE FOODS AND DRUGS GENERALLY

§2169. ISSUANCE OF LICENSES

The commissioner shall, within 30 days following receipt of application for alicense to operate afood
establishment or afood salvage establishment or to act as a salvage broker, issue the appropriate license
if the applicant isin compliance with this chapter and any rules adopted by the commissioner. When any
applicant, upon inspection by the commissioner, is found not to meet the requirements of this chapter or rules
adopted under this chapter, the commissioner may issue either atemporary license for a specified period
not to exceed 90 days, during which time corrections specified by the commissioner must be made by the
applicant for compliance, or a conditional license setting forth conditions that must be met by the applicant to
the satisfaction of the commissioner. [ 1989, c. 664, 84 (AMD).]

A license may be issued for a period of up to 3 years. Licenses for a period in excess of one year may
only beissued with the agreement of or at the request of the applicant. The fee for a 2-year licenseis 2 times
the annual fee. The fee for a 3-year license is 3 times the annual fee. The prescribed fee must accompany the
application for license. Licenses may be renewed upon application and payment of the fees, subject to the
commissioner's rules and regulations. Licenses erroneously issued by the commissioner are considered void
and must be returned to the commissioner on demand. [ 1999, c¢. 598, 81 (AMD); 1999, c.
598, 84 (AFF).]

Beginning August 1, 2000, each one-, 2- or 3-year license or license renewal issued expires on December
31st of the appropriate year except that, beginning January 1, 2010, each one-year, 2-year or 3-year license
or license renewal expires on the date of issuance of the appropriate year. When an initial licenseisissued
or when alicense is renewed between August 1, 2000 and August 1, 2003, the license feeis prorated based
on the number of monthsthe licenseis valid and the annual fee. When alicense is renewed between January
1, 2010 and January 1, 2011, the period of time that the licenseis valid may be increased by up to 11
months and the license feeis prorated based on the number of months the license is valid and the annual fee.
[2009, c. 393, 810 (AMVD).]

The commissioner shall notify license holders not less than 30 days prior to the expiration of their
licenses and provide them with any necessary relicensureforms. [ 1979, c. 672, Pt. A, 856

(NEW. ]

SECTI ON HI STORY

1979, c. 672, §A56 (NEW. 1989, c. 664, 84 (AMD). 1997, c. 454, 8§11
(AVMD). 1999, c. 598, §1 (AVD). 1999, c. 598, 8§4 (AFF). 2009, c. 393,
§10 (AWD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materid, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto statutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureand iscurrent through October 1, 2016. Thetext issubject to

Generated | 1
1.5.2017



MRS Title 22 §2169. ISSUANCE OF LICENSES

changewithout notice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of Sate. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our god
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.
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If you need legdl assistance, please contact aqualified attorney.

| 2 Generated
1.5.2017




