§215. State wards

When a state ward becomes 18 years of age and the state ward and the department agree that need for care and support for educational, social or physical reasons exists, the department is authorized to continue care and support of this person up to 21 years of age. [PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. N, §54 (NEW).]

When a state ward who is enrolled in a postsecondary education program becomes 21 years of age prior to the completion of the postsecondary education program, the department is authorized, at its discretion and by agreement with that state ward, to continue providing support for room, board and related education expenses until the state ward becomes 23 years of age. Funds allocated under this section must come from an identified education and training account specifically established for the postsecondary education-related costs of state wards after they become 21 years of age and before they become 23 years of age. [PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. N, §54 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. N, §54 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.