MRS Title 18-A §3-1205. SOCIAL SECURITY PAYMENTS
MRS Title 18-A §3-1205. SOCIAL SECURITY PAYMENTS
Maine Revised Statutes
Title 18-A: PROBATE CODE
Article :
§3-1205. SOCIAL SECURITY PAYMENTS

If, (1) not less than 30 days after the death of a Maine resident entitled, at the time of his death, to a monthly benefit or benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act, all or part of the amount of such benefit or benefits not in excess of $1,000 is paid by the United States to the surviving spouse, one or more of the deceased's children, or descendants of his deceased children, the deceased's father or mother, or the deceased's brother or sister, preference being given in the order named if more than one request for payment shall have been made by or for such individuals, upon an affidavit made and filed with the Department of Health, Education and Welfare by the surviving spouse or other relative by whom or on whose behalf request for payment is made, and (2) the affidavit shows the date of death of the deceased, the relationship of the affiant to the deceased, that no personal representative for the deceased has been appointed and qualified, and that, to the affiant's knowledge, there exists at the time of filing of the affidavit, no relative of a closer degree of kindred to the deceased than the affiant, then such payment pursuant to the affidavit shall be deemed to be a payment to the legal representative of the decedent and, regardless of the truth or falsity of the statements made therein, shall constitute a full discharge and release of the United States from any further claim for such payment to the same extent as if such payment had been made to the personal representative of the decedent's estate. [1979, c. 540, §1 (NEW).]
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