§4454. Recording necessary to validity; claim specified in writ; seizure on execution; lien

No attachment of real estate on mesne process creates any lien thereon, unless the nature and amount of plaintiff's demand is set forth in the complaint or specifications therein or account annexed thereto, nor unless the officer making it within 5 days thereafter files in the office of the register of deeds in the county or district in which some part of said estate is situated an attested copy of so much of his return on the writ of attachment as relates to the attachment, with the value of the defendant's property which he is thereby commanded to attach, the names of the parties, the date of the writ of attachment and the court to which it is returnable. If the copy is not so filed within 5 days, the attachment takes effect from the time it is filed, although it is after service on the defendant, if before the time he is required to serve his answer. No seizure of real estate on execution, where there is no subsisting attachment thereof made in the action in which such execution issues, creates any lien thereon, unless the officer making it within 5 days thereafter files in the office of the register of deeds in the county or district in which some part of said estate is situated an attested copy of so much of his return on said execution as relates to the seizure, with the names of the parties, the date of the execution, the amount of the debt and costs named therein and the court by which it was issued. If the copy is not so filed, the seizure takes effect from the time it is filed. Such proceedings shall be had in such office by the register of deeds, as are prescribed in Title 33, chapter 11. All recorded deeds take precedence over unrecorded attachments.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.