§4423. Exempt property acquired within 90 days

Notwithstanding section 4424, if within 90 days of the attachment, or, in a proceeding under the United States Code, Title 11, the date of the filing of the petition, the debtor transfers his nonexempt property and as a result acquires, improves or increases in value property otherwise exempt under section 4422, his interest shall not be exempt to the extent that the acquisition, improvement or increase in value exceeds the reasonable needs of the debtor or his dependents. [PL 1983, c. 480, Pt. A, §9 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 431, §2 (NEW). PL 1983, c. 480, §A9 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.