§9601. Spark arrester

- **1. Illegal operation.** A person is guilty of illegal operation of power-driven equipment if that person knowingly:
 - A. Operates power-driven equipment in, through or within 1,000 feet of forest lands without an approved spark arrester; [PL 1989, c. 174, §7 (NEW).]
 - B. Requires the operation of power-driven equipment in, through or within 1,000 feet of forest lands without an approved spark arrester; or [PL 1989, c. 174, §7 (NEW).]
 - C. Permits the operation of power-driven equipment owned by that person in, through or within 1,000 feet of forest lands without an approved spark arrester. [PL 1989, c. 174, §7 (NEW).]

For the purposes of this section, "power-driven equipment" means vehicles, tools or other equipment with an internal combustion engine, but does not include boat motors.

Notwithstanding section 9701, any person who violates this subsection commits a Class E crime. In addition, if the State proves that while in violation of this section fires resulting from that person's power-driven equipment resulted in fire suppression costs to municipal or State Government, the court, as part of any sentence imposed, may, pursuant to Title 17-A, chapter 69, order restitution to be paid to the government entities incurring the suppression costs in an amount not to exceed the limitations established in section 9321.

[PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §18 (AMD).]

2. Approved spark arresters. Spark arresters shall be approved by the director if judged effective to prevent the escape of sparks, carbon deposits or other substances likely to cause fires. The director may permit the use of spark arresters certified by the United States Forest Service, Department of Agriculture.

[PL 1989, c. 174, §7 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1979, c. 545, §3 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 174, §7 (RPR). PL 1991, c. 528, §E11 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 528, §RRR (AFF). PL 1991, c. 591, §E11 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §18 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.