§6505-B. Elver gear fees

- 1. Elver fyke net and Sheldon eel trap fee. A person may not submerge an elver fyke net or a Sheldon eel trap in the waters of the State to fish for or take elvers unless the net or trap owner pays annually the following fees:
 - A. Fifty dollars per net or trap for the use of an elver fyke net or Sheldon eel trap, except that the fee under this paragraph does not apply to an elver fyke net or Sheldon eel trap a person utilizes pursuant to section 6505-A, subsection 5. [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §9 (AMD).]
 - B. [PL 1999, c. 7, §6 (RP).]
 - C. [PL 1999, c. 7, §6 (RP).]

[PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §9 (AMD).]

2. Tags for elver fyke net and Sheldon eel trap. A person may not submerge an elver fyke net or Sheldon eel trap in the coastal waters of the State to fish for or take elvers unless a tag issued by the department is affixed to the shoreside wing of the net or trap and is clearly visible. The department may issue a replacement tag when an owner issued a tag documents that a net or trap has been damaged or lost.

```
[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §30 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
```

3. Dip net fee. A person may not utilize a dip net to fish for or take elvers without paying a fee of \$50 per dip net annually.

This subsection does not apply to a dip net a person utilizes pursuant to section 6505-A, subsection 5. [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §10 (AMD).]

- **4. Payment with license.** The fees required under subsections 1 and 3 must be paid upon application for an elver fishing license under section 6505-A. [PL 1995, c. 536, Pt. A, §8 (NEW).]
- **5. Disposition of fees.** Fees collected under this section accrue to the Eel and Elver Management Fund established in section 6505-D.
 - A. [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §11 (RP).]
- B. [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §11 (RP).] [PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §11 (AMD).]
- **6. Violation.** A person who violates this section commits a Class D crime for which a fine of \$2,000 must be imposed, none of which may be suspended. Violation of this section is a strict liability crime as defined in Title 17-A, section 34, subsection 4-A.

[PL 2013, c. 49, §10 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 536, §A8 (NEW). PL 1997, c. 297, §§3-5 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 575, §2 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 7, §6 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §B30 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §C1 (AFF). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §§7-9 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 549, §6 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 49, §10 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 284, Pt. EEEEE, §§9-11 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The

text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.