§6502. Nonresident special tuna permit

A nonresident individual may fish for, take, possess, ship, transport or sell tuna that the individual has taken, without a commercial fishing license, if the individual has a current special tuna permit. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §26 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

1. Eligibility. A special tuna permit may be issued to a nonresident individual who is a registered participant in a tuna tournament that is sponsored and operated by a nonprofit association or corporation that has existed for at least one year prior to the tournament. An individual may not be issued more than one permit in any one calendar year.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §26 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

2. Authorized activity. A special tuna permittee may fish for, take for sale and sell only one tuna in any one calendar year. The permit is valid for the length of the tournament plus one day or for 7 days from the date of issue, whichever is shorter.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §26 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

- **3. Fee.** The permit fee is \$84, which may be credited against the license fee for a commercial fishing license, if it is issued to the permittee within 30 days of the issuing of the permit. [PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. RRR (AFF); PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. T, §3 (AMD); PL 1991, c. 591, Pt. T, §3 (AMD).]
- **4. Violation.** A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

[PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §26 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 661, §5 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 528, §RRR (AFF). PL 1991, c. 528, §T3 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 591, §T3 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §B26 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §C1 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.