§6-A. Farmland registration

In addition to the powers assigned in section 6, a soil and water conservation district shall review applications for the registration of farmland pursuant to Title 7, chapter 2-B. The district shall, by majority vote of the supervisors, certify whether the land described in the application: [PL 1989, c. 478, §2 (NEW).]

- 1. Acreage. Consists of 5 or more contiguous acres; [PL 1989, c. 478, §2 (NEW).]
- **2. Farm products.** Includes only land used in the production of farm products, as defined in Title 7, section 52, subsection 3-A, in one of the 2, or 3 of the 5, calendar years preceding the date of application for registration under Title 7, chapter 2-B; [RR 2011, c. 2, §7 (COR).]
- **3. Relationship to boundary established.** Is within 50 feet of any property boundary and that the application includes a depiction of the distance between any area producing farm products under consideration and any property boundary within 50 feet that is sufficient to determine the impact of Title 7, section 56, subsection 1-A on abutting land; and [RR 2011, c. 2, §7 (COR).]
- **4. Renewal.** For farmland registered within the time frame provided under section 53-B, subsection 1, continues to meet the eligibility requirements of Title 7, section 53-A that were in effect at the time the land was registered.

[PL 2011, c. 608, §18 (NEW).]

A district shall complete its review under this section within 60 days of receiving an application. [PL 2011, c. 608, §18 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1989, c. 478, §2 (NEW). PL 2007, c. 649, §6 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 608, §18 (AMD). RR 2011, c. 2, §7 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.