§9051. General

1. Violation. The board may cause to be investigated any complaint of an alleged violation by any licensee or of any rules adopted by the board, either by its own inspector or any authorized agency to determine the validity of the complaint.

A. Within one year and 10 days after installation, any home buyer of new manufactured housing may file a complaint about any defective construction or installation defect. [PL 1981, c. 152, §15 (RPR).]

B. Any person having knowledge of a violation of this chapter may file a complaint within one year of that violation. [PL 1981, c. 152, §15 (RPR).]

[PL 2017, c. 210, Pt. B, §23 (AMD).]

2. Form. Complaints may be made in any form, as approved by the board, as long as the complaint includes all information the board considers necessary. [PL 2017, c. 210, Pt. B, §23 (AMD).]

3. Notice for purposes of limitation of actions. If a consumer files a written complaint with the manufacturer, dealer, developer dealer, installer, mechanic or board within one year and 10 days after installation of new manufactured housing, receipt of the written complaint by the manufacturer, dealer, developer dealer, installer, mechanic or board tolls the statute of limitations for purposes of bringing an action to enforce any applicable warranty concerning the defect that is the subject of the written complaint.

[PL 2005, c. 344, §24 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 550, §1 (NEW). PL 1981, c. 152, §15 (RPR). PL 1993, c. 642, §30 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 344, §24 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 210, Pt. B, §23 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.