## §3952. Sale after 6 months

The lienholder shall retain any item subject to a lien under section 3951 for a period of 6 months, at the expiration of which time, if the lien is not satisfied, the lienholder may sell the item at public or private sale, after giving 30 days' notice in writing to the owner, specifying the amount due, describing the item to be sold and informing the owner that the payment of the amount within 30 days entitles the owner to redeem the item. The notice may be given by mail addressed to the owner's place of residence if known, or if the owner's place of residence is unknown, a copy of the notice may be posted by the holder of the lien in 2 public places in the town, village or city where the item is held. [PL 1991, c. 41, §2 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 63, §2 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 41, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.