

128th MAINE LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION-2018

Legislative Document

No. 1814

S.P. 681

In Senate, February 1, 2018

An Act To Amend the Charter of the Lisbon Water Department

(AFTER DEADLINE)

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 205.

Reference to the Committee on Energy, Utilities and Technology suggested and ordered printed.

HEATHER J.R. PRIEST Secretary of the Senate

Heath & Buil

Presented by Senator MASON of Androscoggin. Cosponsored by Representative MASON of Lisbon and Representative: TIMBERLAKE of Turner.

1	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2 3	Sec. 1. P&SL 1903, c. 241, §6, 2nd ¶, as repealed and replaced by P&SL 2005, c. 43, Pt. A, §1 and affected by Pt. B, §1, is amended to read:
4 5 6 7 8 9	The Board of Water Commissioners consists of 3 water commissioners, all of whom must be residents of the Town of Lisbon and are elected at the annual municipal election for a term of 3 years. The term of a water commissioner elected after July 1, 2006 and before November 8, 2017 runs from July 1st of the year following the election to June 30th of the 3rd year following commencement of the term. The term of a water commissioner elected after November 7, 2017 runs from December 1st of the year of the election to November 30th of the 3rd year following commencement of the term.
11 12	Sec. 2. Transition. Notwithstanding Private and Special Law 1903, chapter 241, section 6, as amended:
13 14	1. The water commissioner of the Lisbon Water Department elected on November 7, 2017 serves for a term that runs from July 1, 2018 to November 30, 2020;
15 16	2. The term of the water commissioner whose successor is to be determined at an election held in 2018 ends November 30, 2018; and
17 18	3. The term of the water commissioner whose successor is to be determined at an election held in 2019 ends November 30, 2019.
19	SUMMARY
20 21	This bill aligns the terms of office of the water commissioners of the Lisbon Water Department with those of the members of the Lisbon Town Council.