

128th MAINE LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION-2018

Legislative Document

No. 1759

H.P. 1213

House of Representatives, January 3, 2018

An Act To Rename the Coast of Maine Wildlife Management Area as the Alan E. Hutchinson Wildlife Management Area

Approved for introduction by a majority of the Legislative Council pursuant to Joint Rule 203.

Reference to the Committee on Inland Fisheries and Wildlife suggested and ordered printed.

R(+ B. Hunt

ROBERT B. HUNT Clerk

Presented by Representative DUCHESNE of Hudson.

1	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2 3	Sec. 1. 12 MRSA §12708, sub-§1, ¶B, as amended by PL 2013, c. 408, §21, is further amended to read:
4 5	B. The following areas are classified as state-owned wildlife management areas, or "WMAs":
6 7	(1) Blanchard/AuClair WMA (Roach River Corridor) - T1 R14 WELS - Piscataquis County;
8 9	(2) Major Gregory Sanborn WMA - Brownfield, Denmark, Fryeburg - Oxford County;
10 11	(3) George Bucknam WMA (Belgrade Stream) - Mt. Vernon - Kennebec County;
12	(4) Caesar Pond WMA - Bowdoin - Sagadahoc County;
13	(5) Chesterville WMA - Chesterville - Franklin County;
14 15	(6) Coast of Maine <u>Alan E. Hutchinson</u> WMA - all state-owned coastal islands that are owned or managed by the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife;
16	(7) Dickwood Lake WMA - Eagle Lake - Aroostook County;
17 18	(8) Francis D. Dunn WMA (Sawtelle Deadwater) - T6 R7 WELS - Penobscot County;
19	(9) Fahi Pond WMA - Embden - Somerset County;
20 21	(10) Lyle Frost WMA (formerly Scammon) - Eastbrook, Franklin - Hancock County;
22 23	(11) Alonzo H. Garcelon WMA (Mud Mill Flowage) - Augusta, Windsor, Vassalboro, China - Kennebec County;
24	(12) Great Works WMA - Edmunds Township - Washington County;
25 26	(13) Jamies Pond WMA - Manchester, Farmingdale, Hallowell - Kennebec County;
27	(14) Jonesboro WMA - Jonesboro - Washington County;
28	(15) Earle R. Kelley WMA (Dresden Bog) - Alna, Dresden - Lincoln County;
29	(16) Kennebunk Plains WMA - Kennebunk - York County;
30 31	(17) Bud Leavitt WMA (Bull Hill) - Atkinson, Charleston, Dover-Foxcroft, Garland - Penobscot County and Piscataquis County;
32 33	(18) Gene Letourneau WMA (Frye Mountain) - Montville, Knox, Morrill - Waldo County;
34 35	(19) Long Lake WMA - St. Agatha - Aroostook County (all of Long Lake within the Town of St. Agatha);
36	(20) Madawaska WMA - Palmyra - Somerset County;

1	(20-A) Maine Youth Conservation WMA - T32MD - Hancock County;
2	(2014) Mainstream WMA - Cambridge, Ripley - Somerset County;
3	(21) Manual and WMA - Hodgdon, Cary Plantation, Linneus -
4	Aroostook County;
5	(23) Maynard F. Marsh WMA (Killick Pond) - Hollis, Limington - York
6	County;
7	(24) Mercer Bog WMA - Mercer - Somerset County;
8 9	(25) Merrymeeting Bay WMA - Dresden, Bowdoinham, Woolwich, Bath, Topsham - Lincoln County and Sagadahoc County;
10	(26) Morgan Meadow WMA - Raymond - Cumberland County;
11	(27) Mt. Agamenticus WMA - York, South Berwick - York County;
12	(28) Muddy River WMA - Topsham - Sagadahoc County;
13	(29) Narraguagus Junction WMA - Cherryfield - Washington County;
14	(30) Old Pond Farm WMA - Maxfield, Howland - Penobscot County;
15	(31) Orange River WMA - Whiting - Washington County;
16	(32) Peaks Island WMA - Portland - Cumberland County;
17	(33) Pennamaquam WMA - Pembroke, Charlotte - Washington County;
18 19 20	(34) Steve Powell WMA - Perkins Township - Sagadahoc County (being the islands in the Kennebec River near Richmond known as Swan Island and Little Swan Island, formerly known as Alexander Islands);
21	(35) David Priest WMA (Dwinal Pond) - Lee, Winn - Penobscot County;
22 23	(36) James Dorso Ruffingham Meadow WMA - Montville, Searsmont - Waldo County;
24	(37) St. Albans WMA - St. Albans - Somerset County;
25	(38) Sandy Point WMA - Stockton Springs - Waldo County;
26 27	(39) Scarborough WMA - Scarborough, Old Orchard Beach, Saco - Cumberland County and York County;
28	(40) Steep Falls WMA - Standish, Baldwin - Cumberland County;
29	(41) Tyler Pond WMA - Manchester, Augusta - Kennebec County;
30	(42) Vernon S. Walker WMA - Newfield, Shapleigh - York County;
31 32	(43) R. Waldo Tyler Weskeag Marsh WMA - South Thomaston, Thomaston, Rockland, Owl's Head, Friendship - Knox County;
33 34	(43-A) Kennebec River Estuary WMA - Arrowsic, Bath, Georgetown, Phippsburg, West Bath, Woolwich - Sagadahoc County;
35	(43-B) Tolla Wolla WMA - Livermore - Androscoggin County;

1	(43-C) Green Point WMA - Dresden - Lincoln County;
2	(43-D) Hurds Pond WMA - Swanville - Waldo County;
3	(43-E) Sherman Lake WMA - Newcastle, Damariscotta - Lincoln County;
4	(43-F) Ducktrap River WMA - Belmont, Lincolnville - Waldo County;
5	(45) Stump Pond WMA - New Vineyard - Franklin County;
6	(46) Bog Brook WMA - Beddington, Deblois - Washington County;
7 8	(47) Cobscook Bay WMA - Lubec, Pembroke, Perry, Trescott Township - Washington County;
9 10	(48) Mattawamkeag River System WMA - Drew Plantation, Kingman Township, Prentiss Township, Webster Township - Penobscot County;
11	(49) Booming Ground WMA - Forest City - Washington County;
12	(50) Butler Island WMA - Ashland - Aroostook County;
13	(51) Pollard Flat WMA - Masardis - Aroostook County;
14	(52) Caribou Bog WMA - Old Town, Orono - Penobscot County;
15	(53) Delano WMA - Monson - Piscataquis County;
16	(54) Egypt Bay WMA - Hancock - Hancock County;
17	(55) Spring Brook WMA - Hancock - Hancock County;
18	(56) Strong WMA - Strong - Franklin County;
19	(57) Plymouth Bog WMA - Plymouth - Penobscot County; and
20 21	(58) Such other areas as the commissioner designates, by rules adopted in accordance with section 12701, as state-owned wildlife management areas.
22	SUMMARY
23 24	This bill renames the Coast of Maine Wildlife Management Area as the Alan E. Hutchinson Wildlife Management Area in Mr. Hutchinson's honor and memory.