PLEASE NOTE: Legislative Information *cannot* perform research, provide legal advice, or interpret Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Resolve, Establishing an Apportionment Commission To Increase the Number of Androscoggin County Commissioners

Sec. 1 Apportionment commission. Resolved: That, notwithstanding the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 61, the Androscoggin County commissioners may establish an apportionment commission, referred to in this resolve as "the commission," in accordance with the procedure established in the Constitution of Maine, Article IV, Part Third, Section 1-A to apportion the Androscoggin County commissioner districts to increase the number of county commissioner districts in Androscoggin County. If the Androscoggin County commissioners establish an apportionment commission, by October 1, 2009, the commission shall develop a plan with maps to increase the number of county commissioner districts from 3 to 5. The plan must include the initial terms of office for each commissioner district. The plan to increase the number of districts must designate 2 commissioners to have 2-year initial terms and 3 commissioners to have 4-year initial terms. The commission shall conduct the reapportionment according to the process established in Title 30-A, section 65, subsection 1, paragraphs A and B; and be it further

Sec. 2 County referendum. Resolved: That the Androscoggin County commissioners may submit the plan developed pursuant to section 1 to the voters of Androscoggin County at the statewide election held in November 2009. The plan must be submitted by the commission to the Clerk of the House of Representatives no later than January 15, 2010 for enactment by the Second Regular Session of the 124th Legislature; and be it further

Sec. 3 Election of county commissioners. Resolved: That the election of Androscoggin County commissioners in the reapportioned districts approved pursuant to section 2 must take place at the statewide election held in November 2010.