PLEASE NOTE: Legislative Information *cannot* perform research, provide legal advice, or interpret Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Amend the bill by inserting after section 31 the following:

'Sec. 32. Exemption for certain towns. Notwithstanding any provision of the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 20-A to the contrary, the towns of Castine, Penobscot, Blue Hill, Brooksville, Brooklin, Sedgwick, Surry, Deer Isle and Stonington are authorized to form a school union governed by the provisions of Title 20-A in effect prior to the enactment of Public Law 2007, chapter 240, Part XXXX. The Department of Education, in consultation with the municipal officers of those towns, shall submit legislation necessary to fully implement the provisions of this section to the First Regular Session of the 124th Legislature.'

Amend the bill by relettering or renumbering any nonconsecutive Part letter or section number to read consecutively.

SUMMARY

This amendment allows the towns of Castine, Penobscot, Blue Hill, Brooksville, Brooklin, Sedgwick, Surry, Deer Isle and Stonington to form a school union governed by the school organization laws that were in effect prior to the enactment in 2007 of the law requiring the reorganization of school districts. In order to fully implement the formation and governance, the Department of Education is required to work with the towns and provide implementing legislation to the 124th Legislature.