What is Maine's Law on Marriage
Who may get married in Maine?
Under Maine statute, “Marriage is the legally recognized union of 2 people. Gender-specific terms relating to the marital relationship or familial relationships must be construed to be gender-neutral for all purposes throughout the law, whether in the context of statute, administrative or court rule, policy, common law or any other source of civil law” (see 19-A MRSA 650-A). 19-A MRSA §701 prohibits the following types of marriages: marriage out of Maine to evade law, certain marriages performed in another state not recognized in Maine, prohibitions based on degrees of consanguinity, persons legally determined to be incapacitated under the law, and polygamy.
Where do I get a marriage license?
19-A MRS §651(1) establishes where couples should obtain a marriage license. For information about the requirements to obtain a marriage license, see the Maine.gov website on this topic.
Are there age restrictions on obtaining a marriage license in Maine?
According to 19-A MRS §652, “A marriage license may not be issued to persons under 18 years of age without the written consent of their parents, guardians or persons to whom a court has given custody.” This section also governs the issuance of marriage licenses to parties under 16 years of age.
Is common law marriage valid in Maine?
There is no statutory language concerning common law marriage in Maine. A Maine Supreme Judicial Court case states that “common law marriages are not recognized as valid under the laws of the state” (Pierce v. Secretary of U.S. Dept. of Health, Education and Welfare, 254 A.2d 46 (1969).
Who can solemnize a marriage in Maine?
19-A MRSA §655 addresses who is authorized to solemnize marriages.
How do I obtain a marriage record in Maine?
To obtain copies of marriage records in Maine from 1892-1955, contact the Maine State Archives. To obtain certified copies of marriage records from 1923 to the present, contact the Maine Office of Vital Records. Certified copies of marriage records from 1923 to present can also be obtained from the city or town where the event took place. To obtain divorce records from 1892 through the present, contact the Maine Office of Vital Records.
11/15/2017 A-Z List